Diary Comparison

Wednesday 4th February 1835

Ann Walker’s Entry

Anne Lister’s Entry

No entry today.

[up at] 7 35/..

[to bed at] 11

no kiss fine morning Fahrenheit 47 1/2° at 8 40/.. at which hour went out till breakfast at near 10 – with Pickells and about   Pickells and his brother and lad and George Pickells with Pickells’s cart (one horse) carting down the stone from the wall along the great sycamore – A- [Adney] rewrote her letter to her sister to express herself differently about Patterson and when she had done  it struck me Mrs. S-‘s [Sutherland’s] not A-‘s [Adney’s] calculation was right about the interest the S-’s [Sutherlands] had to pay her  so blotted out five whole lines   Adney sent off her letter to her sister   Adney and I out at 11 1/4 – walked to Cliff hill and sat there 3/4 hour Mrs. Ann Walker very glad to see us – home at 1 1/2 – found note by his boy from Mr. Parker asking for the deed of purchase of Wilkinsons coal to get his receipt for the £40 due on Monday – Longish business to get the tin box out of the hall chamber into the Low kitchen chamber – out again at 2 1/4 – had Charles and James Howarth to take down 2 thorns from the hedge at the bottom of the Calf croft to my walk gate in the tilly holm where Throp junior and his man planted them, after helping us (the 2 Howarths Pearson and John Booth) to loaden (cart and 2 horses as on Monday) 8 large sycamores two for the top of Wheat and six for the top of what is left of the old Conery lane turning up on to Bairstow – the 2 gardeners made out the rest of the day in Lower brea wood getting up sycamores as this morning and yesterday afternoon – with Pickells till 6 – dinner at 6 1/2 – coffee – 1/2 hour with my father and Marian till near 8 – then wrote the above of today – Hinscliffe called twice this morning while I was out – will call again at 10 a.m. on Saturday – more rails this afternoon (bad ones) from Simpson’s – Mr. Bradley here this afternoon was /while/ I was in Lower brea wood – will come again on Saturday – read from page 73 to 91 Philip on Indigestion – 1/4 hour with my aunt till 10 p.m. at which hour Fahrenheit 48° – fine day – windyish – 

Courtesy of West Yorkshire Archive Service, Calderdale SH:7/ML/E/17/0158

** The next day button will show a 404 error until the corresponding comparison date post is published to the website (on the exact date of the journal entries)